ALA’s RUSA Awards Announced

One of my favorite awards were recently announced: The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) 2011 Reading List.

RUSA annually recognizes the best books in eight genres: adrenaline (including suspense, thriller and adventure), fantasy, historical fiction, horror, mystery, romance, science fiction and women’s fiction. This list is one of my very favorites because they include “read-alikes” (as well as the short list for each genre).  So often I look over a list of unknown titles and wonder whether or not I would enjoy any.  Well, the “read-alike” list answers that question!

Here are the selections for the genres of “Women’s Fiction” and “Adrenaline:”

Adrenaline515LuRZAXyL. SL160  ALA’s RUSA Awards Announced

The Nearest Exit by Olen Steinhauer

Read-Alikes:

The Quiet American by Graham Greene

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John Le Carré

Night Soldiers by Alan Furst

Short List:

Caught by Harlan Coben

Crashers by Dana Haynes

Deep Shadow by Randy Wayne White

They’re Watching by Gregg Hurwitz

Women’s Fiction51tNBlPo0AL. SL160  ALA’s RUSA Awards Announced

Solomon’s Oak by Jo-Ann Mapson

Read-Alikes:

Shelter Me by Juliette Fay

The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch by Marsha Moyer

The Blessings of the Animals by Katrina Kittle

Short List:

The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen

The Language of Sand by Ellen Block

The Love Goddess’ Cooking School by Melissa Senate

Vintage Affair by Isabel Wolff

I’ve only read The Blessings of Animals, but I loved it!!  Any others I should put at the top of my TBR list?

This entry was posted in Future Classics...?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>